The Royal Humane Society of Australia


Former Patron in Chief

Her Majesty The Late Queen Elizabeth II

Senior Patron in Australia

His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd)

Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia


Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC KC

Governor of New South Wales

The Honourable Linda Dessau AC

Governor of Victoria

Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM

Governor of Queensland

Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC

Governor of South Australia

His Excellency the Honourable Chris Dawson APM

Governor of Western Australia

Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker AC

Governor of Tasmania

Administrator of the Northern Territory

Her Honour the Honourable Vicki O'Halloran AO

Court of Directors

Honorary Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor John H Maynard

Vice Presidents

The Right Honourable the Lord Mayors of Melbourne,
Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Hobart and Darwin.
Robert W. Bett 
David M Arden RFD

Janne Bowen James W C Brookes Catherine Cairns Professor Stephen Corder AM PSM
Frances Evans Captain Graeme Keys RFD Ian Knight Maj-Gen David J McLachlan AO AO (Mil)
A J Murphy AFSM Denis Roche Cameron Ross Robert Webster OAM
Trevor White AFSM Andrea Wyatt ASM

Secretary & Office Manager

Sue Cutler

Life Members

  • Rosalind T Bodley OAM
  • Ian D Cairns RFD RD
  • Ross M Campbell
  • Roger T Jones OAM
  • E G Kidd
  • Caroline Larkins
  • Letitia M H Shelton


McLean Delmo Bentleys Audit Pty Ltd

Representatives of the Society

The following are the Honorary Correspondents of the Society:

Queensland - Katarina Carroll APM, Commissioner of Police Brisbane, South Australia - Grant Stevens APM, Commissioner of Police Adelaide, Victoria - Shane Patton, APM, Commissioner of Police Melbourne, Western Australia  - Col Blanch APM, Commissioner of Police Perth, Tasmania - Jonathan Higgins APM, Deputy Commissioner of Police Hobart, Australian Capital Territory -  Reece P Kershaw APM, Commissioner Australian Federal Police Canberra, Northern Territory - Jamie Chalker APM, Commissioner of Police Darwin

1876-1889 John Wilks JP 1937-1947 Rupert Wilks 1986-1992Sir Bernard Callinan AC CBE DSO MC
1889-1893 Sir Arthur Nicholson Bart 1947-1951 Major-General Sir Julius Bruche KCB CMG 1992-1999Sir Rupert Clarke Bt AM MBE
1893-1925 George Lush 1951-1971 L.R. Stillman OBE MC 1999-2013Ross M Campbell
1925-1937 Thomas Brentnall 1971-1986 Everard Bailieu CBE 2013-Associate Professor John H Maynard

Relief Fund

Associate Professor John H Maynard 

Director R.H.S. Nominees Pty Ltd

James W C Brookes

Director of R.H.S Nominees Pty. Ltd

Robert W. Bett 

Director of R.H.S Nominees Pty. Ltd

David M Arden RFD                

Director of R.H.S. Nominees Pty Ltd




James W C Brookes

John H Maynard



Vice President




A J Murphy

Trevor White

Natural Disasters

Janne Bowen

Trevor White


David Arden

David McLachlan


Catherine Cairns

Associate Professor John H Maynard

Professor Stephen Cordner


Frances Evans

Ian Knight


Denis A. Roche


Robert W Bett


Graeme Keys


David Arden 

Cameron Ross


Andrea Wyatt